The rumours are true…

I’m excited (and a little nervous) to confirm that from Tuesday 1st December 2015, Lungfish will become part of Radix Communications.

Obviously, that’s kind of a big deal for me. To all intents and purposes, I’ve been Mr Lungfish for the last three years. The thought of letting the brand go provokes all kinds of funny feelings.

Lungfish-Cornwall

Goodbye, old friend…

But not all about me. It’s pretty big for our sector, and (I hope) for Cornwall, too. This new Radix beast we’re making is bigger and furrier than any dedicated B2B copywriting agency we can think of.

That’s a copywriting industry leader, right here in Cornwall. That has to be good news for local copywriters as a whole, right?

Of course, it’s still the same work. Radix have been writing for big, international brands for years, and I’ve done OK for myself too. But this feels like we’re building something kinda special.

So I’m excited. I’m excited about the future, excited about my new role in the team, and excited for our clients. Working alongside Radix for the past three and a half years, I’ve found they’re a brilliant* bunch. So I’m excited about adding some Lungfishiness to that mix, and seeing what happens.

(* In fact, they’re annoyingly good: David Ogilvy said to build a great agency you should hire people better than you. That’s hard in a small world like B2B copywriting, when Radix have hoovered most of them up already. Well, if you can’t beat ’em…)

Naturally, there’s some sadness too – especially that I won’t get to work with Kirsten Whiting on a daily basis. As a freelance project manager, she had a huge impact on the good ship Lungfish in a short space of time, was hugely popular with clients (I’m a bit jealous) and has become, I hope it’s not presumptuous to say, a good friend.

If you need creative stuff organising, snap up Kirsten’s availability while she has some. Seriously.

It’s also sad that the brand (designed by the insanely talented Chris Humphris) and the website (built by the unflappable and longsuffering Arobaze) will be no more. (Now I’m moving on, is it OK to admit they made me cry happy tears…?)

But anyway. This is not an Oscar acceptance speech. The people (suppliers, clients, partners, sages, friends) who have helped Lungfish along the way KNOW WHO YOU ARE… and part of the reason I’m so grateful for it all is that Lungfish led here.

And besides, it’s not like I’m leaving town or anything. I’ll be seeing you soon.

It’s a time for celebrating, because something very, very cool is about to happen.

Leave a Reply

